Detailed program


Sunday July 8, 2018

12:45-13:00 Introduction
Eric V. Anslyn, Jonathan L. Sessler and Normand Voyer
13:00-14:30 Systems chemistry and replication
13:00 Sijbren Otto (University of Groningen)  
13:30 Hai-Bo Yang (East China Normal University)  
14:00 Douglas Philp (University of St. Andrews)  
14:30-15:00 Health break
15:00-16:40 Molecular Complexity
15:00 Janan Jayawickramarajahn (Tulane University)  
15:20 Mitsuhiko Shionoya (University of Tokyo)  
15:40 Jorge Tiburcio (Center for Research and Advanced Studies, Mexico)  
16:00 Feihe Huang (Zhejiang University)  
16:20 First Nation Purification Ceremony
17:00-18:30 Welcome Reception
18:30-20:00 Inspirational Lectures
18:30 Karen Wooley (Texas A&M University)  
19:00 Kimoon Kim (Pohang University)  
19:30 End of the session (Dinner on your own)  

Monday July 9, 2018

9:00-10:30 Supramolecular Chemistry in Water
9:00 Bruce Gibb (Tulane University)  
9:30 Dor Ben-Amotz (Purdue University)  
10:00 Lyle Isaacs (University of Maryland)  
10:30-11:00 Health break & Exhibition Visit
11:00-12:30 Novel Host Design
11:00 Richard Hooley (University of California, Riverside)  
11:20 Fraser Hof (University of Victoria)  
11:40 Amanda Hargrove (Duke University)  
12:00 Jonathan Nitschke (Cambridge University)  
12:30-14:00 Lunch break & Exhibition Visit
14:00-15:30 Membrane Transport and Novel Hosts I
14:00 Paul Cremer (Pennsylvania State University)  
14:30 Cynthia Burrows (University of Utah)  
15:00 Injae Shin (Yonsei University)  
15:30-16:00 Health break & Exhibition Visit
16:00-17:00 Membrane Transport and Novel Hosts II
16:00 Andreea Schmitzer (Université de Montréal)  
16:20 George Gokel (University of Missouri-St. Louis)  
16:40 Bruce Moyer (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)  
17:00-19:00 Poster Session 1 - Cocktails
19:00-20:00 Inspirational Lectures
19:00 Kristi Anseth (University of Colorado)
19:30 Julius Rebek (Scripps Research Institute)
20:00 End of the session (Dinner on your own)

Tuesday July 10, 2018

9:00-10:30 Supramolecular Catalysis I
9:00 Annaliese Franz (University of California, Davis)  
9:30 Scott Miller (Yale University)  
10:00 David MacMillan (Princeton University)  
10:30-11:00 Health break & Exhibition Visit
11:00-12:00 Catalysis and Host Design
11:00 Jose Rivera (University of Puerto Rico)  
11:20 Dan Yang (University of Hong Kong)  
11:40 Ali Trabolsi (New York University, Abu Dhabi)  
12:00-13:30 Lunch break & Exhibition Visit
13:30-15:00 Diagnostics I
13:30 Pavel Anzenbacher (Bowling Green State University)  
14:00 Jong Seung Kim (Korea University)  
14:30 David Margulies (Weizmann Institute)  
15:00-15:30 Health break & Exhibition Visit
15:30-17:00 Diagnostics II
15:30 Emily Que (University of Texas, Austin)  
15:50 Chris Chang (University of California, Berkeley)  
16:10 Valerie Pierre (University of Minnesota)  
16:30 Zeev Gross (Technion – Israel Institute of Chemistry)  
17:00-18:00 Award Cocktails & Mixer
18:00-20:00 Awards Ceremony Chair: Jonathan Sessler  
18:00 Sessler Early Career Research Prize: Mindy Levine (University of Rhode Island)  
18:30 CLP Prize Lecture: Rafal Klajn (Weizmann Institute of Science) Introduction R. Harrison
19:15 Izatt Christensen Award Lecture: Phil Gale (University of Sydney) Introduction R. Izatt
20:00 End of the session (Dinner on your own)  

Wednesday Juy 11, 2018

9:00-10:30 Foldamers I
9:00 Ivan Huc (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)  
9:30 Samuel Gellman (University of Wisconsin)  
10:00 Steve Zimmerman (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)  
10:30-11:00 Health break & Exhibition Visit
11:00-12:20 Foldamers II
11:00 Paramjit Arora (New York University)  
11:20 Brent Iverson (University of Texas, Austin)  
11:40 Oliver Reiser (Universitat Regensburg)  
12:00 Yan Zhao (Iowa State University)  
12:30-17:30 Excursions
17:30 Free evening to enjoy!

Thursday July 12, 2018

9:00-10:30 Molecular Recognition Driving Forces
9:00 Mark Taylor (University of Toronto)  
9:30 Dennis Dougherty (California Institute of Technologies)  
10:00 Mary Cloninger (Montana State University)  
10:30-11:00 Health break
11:00-12:00 Physical Analysis Driving Forces
11:00 Ken Shimizu (University South Carolina)  
11:20 Sunning Wang (Queen's University at Kingston)  
11:40 Dean Tantillo (University of California, Davis)  
12:00-14:00 Poster Session II - Lunch
14:00-15:30 Functional Materials I
14:00 Sankaran Thayumanavan (University Massachusetts Amherst)  
14:30 Samuel Stupp (Northwestern University)  
15:00 Lee Cronin (University of Glasgow)
15:30-16:00 Health break
16:00-17:40 Functional Materials II
16:00 Ali Coskun (KAIST)  
16:20 Niveen Khashab (King Abdullah University)
16:40 Ron Smaldone (University of Texas, Dallas)  
17:00 Youjun Yang (East China University Science and Technology)  
17:20 Pierangelo Metrangolo (Polytechnic University of Milan)  
19:30-23:00 Banquet Dinner at the Manège Militaire de Québec (Quebec Armoury)

Friday July 13, 2018

8:30-10:30 Nobel Laureates and Poster Selection Talks Session
8:30 Poster Selection Talks  
10:00-10:15 Health break
10:15 Ben Feringa (University of Groningen)  
11:00 Fraser Stoddart (Northwestern University)  
11:45-12:00 Close of Meeting and Final Remarks
Eric V. Anslyn, Jonathan L. Sessler and Normand Voyer

Visit our social networks

Important Dates

Call for papers and registration opening
December 7, 2017

Abstract submission deadline
March 15, 2018 EXTENDED March 26, 2018

Paper acceptance notice
April 1, 2018

Early bird
April 15, 2018

Presenting author registration deadline
May 7, 2018

July 8-13, 2018